Skip to main contentAccessibility Statement

Taxi Marshal scheme

About the scheme

The Taxi Marshal scheme started in December 2023, using Safer Streets funding. Taxi Marshals are responsible for making sure lone females, vulnerable people and those accompanied by children are safely supervised when using taxis, as well as addressing any conflicts arising on the taxi rank and reporting any incidents to the Licensing Authority and Northamptonshire Police.

The SIA licensed marshals also help to manage taxi queueing systems and move on private hire vehicles ‘plying for hire’.

Times and locations

The marshals will be positioned at the taxi rank on Mercer’s Row in Northampton town centre, between 11pm and 5am on Friday and Saturday nights during pay weekends, bank holiday weekends and additional weekends during busy and festive periods.

Additional dates have been added throughout summer to cover occasions such as the Beer Festival, the ‘Perfect Day’ festival and ‘Pride Northampton’.

Summer 2024 dates 

Below are the Taxi Marshal dates for Summer 2024:

  • Friday 24 May 
  • Saturday 25 May 
  • Friday 31 May
  • Saturday 1 June
  • Saturday 15 June
  • Friday 5 July
  • Saturday 6 July
  • Saturday 13 July
  • Friday 2 August
  • Saturday 3 August
  • Saturday 10 August
  • Friday 24 August
  • Saturday 25 August

News articles and press releases

Last updated 15 May 2024